Bargaining Update November 2023

Attention All-SEIU Represented Pinellas County Schools Workers,

After several months of collective bargaining throughout the Summer and Fall, the SEIU-FPSU bargaining committee and the District Administration team have reached a tentative agreement for a wage increase for the FY2023-2024 school year.
The parties have agreed to the following terms:
  • Employees currently earning $15.00 per hour will see an increase between 3% and 4.25%, as indicated on the salary schedule attached, retroactive to July 1, 2023.
  • Employees working in jobs other than Bus Driver, Bus Driver Relief and Lead Driver (these employees received a negotiated base wage increase in May 2023) will see an increase of four and a half percent, retroactive to July 1, 2023. (4.5%.)
  • Employees in the classifications of Bus Driver, Bus Driver Relief and Lead Driver, in lieu of an additional increase, will receive a five hundred dollar ($500.00) non-recurring one-time payment. (Note… workers in these classifications have a separate wage scale attached below.)
  • Employees with at least one full year of service as of 1/30/24 will receive a one-time payment (less applicable taxes) of between $200 and $600, based on full years of continuous District service. (See attachment below.)
  • The District agreed to absorb 80% of the health insurance increase for FY 2023-2024. Employees will pay 20% of the increase. (Note, this is the same insurance agreement as teachers and PESPA.)
  • All Food and Nutrition Cook Specialists not currently earning at least $16.73 per hour will see their pay adjusted upward to $16.73 per hour, calculated before the 4.5% wage increase is implemented.
  • An additional two work days for training will be added for Bus Drivers, Bus Driver Relief and Lead Drivers during the 2024-2025 school year, (192 duty days increased to 194 duty days) and the contract is amended to reflect the increase of workdays of Food and Nutrition staff. (193 duty days)
  • The District and Union have collaboratively developed a new self-appraisal form, and employees have the option of whether or not to complete or not.
  • The District, at the request of the Union, created an equalized pay calculator, so an employee may check how their pay is equalized over the course of the year.
(Note, the full collective bargaining agreement is up for discussion next year. We’ll be meeting in early 2024 to start that process.)
Ratification Documents 

Sick Leave Bank

The District, PCTA, PESPA and SEIU are excited to present updated guidelines for the Sick Leave Bank, which includes a modification to the guidelines to allow employees to withdraw up to 10 days due to a documented COVID-19 illness during the 2020-2021 school year. an additional sick day up to the maximum allowable by state statute

What is the Sick Leave Bank?

The Sick Leave Bank is used to provide an opportunity for a professional to remain in the field of education following a personal, debilitating illness or accident which substantially delays his/her ability to resume duty. By simply donating one of your sick days to the Bank, you have the ability to withdraw days if you are suffering from a personal debilitating illness or injury. Regular guidelines state you must exhaust your available sick days and go without pay for 5 days. 

What modifications have been made due to COVID-19?

The Families First Coronavirus Act (FFCRA) provides employees with up to 80 hours of Emergency Paid Sick Leave if the employee is unable to work or telework, under the conditions outlined in the FFCRA. The modified procedures will allow members of the Sick Leave Bank to withdraw up to an additional 10 days of paid time for COVID illnesses, after exhausting their hours from the Emergency Paid Sick Leave. Members of the sick leave bank won’t have to exhaust their sick leave, nor will they have to go without pay for 5 days. 

When can I join the Sick Leave Bank?

You can join now! Staff typically can enroll in the Bank on the first Monday of each month. However, we are opening this enrollment period throughout the month of August this year. After August, you will still be able to join on the first Monday of each month going forward. And, due to COVID-19, we are waiving the requirement that you have to have ten (10) sick days to join this year. 

How do I join the Sick Leave Bank?

Please click below to download the application form and pony it to the Human Resources Department.



  • Isaline “Izzy” Boston-Boyd, Organizer  |  727.798.4312  |

Chapter Leaders

  • Tia Blunt
    Chapter Chair, PCS
  • Rebecca “Becky” Dean
    Vice Chair, PCS
  • Richard “Mac” MacDonald
    Chapter Secretary, PCS
  • Talmadge Andrews
    Chief Steward
    Executive Board Member, SEIU-FPSU


  • Rebecca “Becky” Dean – Executive Board Member, SEIU-FPSU
  • Richard “Mac” MacDonald – Executive Board Member, SEIU-FPSU
  • Brian Wilson
  • Tia Blunt


  • Tia Blunt
  • Sonja Cheaves
  • Vince Morgan

Contracts & Agreements

Member Resources

Union Hall

1202 66th Street North
St. Petersburg, FL 33710


Please contact our main office in Palm Springs at 561.965.0077 for assistance.